Month: February 2014

  • Drifting Away

    some people wake up wise
    some don't wake up at all
    some poke out their eyes
    tired of all the things they saw
    and I'm checking out soon
    fill up the hot air balloon
    I'm drifting away
    I'm drifting away

    some people starving for news
    looking for reasons to sing the blues
    and the friends they pick and choose
    hit the alarm for one last snooze
    tell me what's left to lose
    after things are said and done
    show me a place to hang my guns
    gonna have me a little fun

    you can take me to task
    for the questions I didn't ask
    I'm even willing to take the blame
    for how the team threw the game
    I'm used to being on the losing side
    and I'm ready for one last slide
    there isn't much now left to say
    please don't look at me that way

    some people wake up blind
    they forever closed their hearts and minds
    in the darkness they trip and stumble
    over things they searched their whole lives for
    they can't even find the door
    they thought they were on the winning team
    but you and I know nothing is ever as it seems

    and I'm drifting away
    I'm drifting away