February 23, 2014

  • Drifting Away

    some people wake up wise
    some don't wake up at all
    some poke out their eyes
    tired of all the things they saw
    and I'm checking out soon
    fill up the hot air balloon
    I'm drifting away
    I'm drifting away

    some people starving for news
    looking for reasons to sing the blues
    and the friends they pick and choose
    hit the alarm for one last snooze
    tell me what's left to lose
    after things are said and done
    show me a place to hang my guns
    gonna have me a little fun

    you can take me to task
    for the questions I didn't ask
    I'm even willing to take the blame
    for how the team threw the game
    I'm used to being on the losing side
    and I'm ready for one last slide
    there isn't much now left to say
    please don't look at me that way

    some people wake up blind
    they forever closed their hearts and minds
    in the darkness they trip and stumble
    over things they searched their whole lives for
    they can't even find the door
    they thought they were on the winning team
    but you and I know nothing is ever as it seems

    and I'm drifting away
    I'm drifting away

Comments (4)

  • I like how this is written.
    It's somewhat meloncholy, but stangely subdued and accepting at the same time; or so it seemed to me.

  • Great images of love and angst in this poem. Longing and desire. Well written. Wish there was a rec button.

  • I hear a melody with this! It reads like song lyrics... yes definitely a song!

  • thank you, everyone for the comments.

    I wrote this after listening to some Warren Zevon songs, particularly Desperados under the Eaves. but no, it wasn't a reply to his song, or the other Zevon songs I listened to that night. I will put him down as an inspiration, but I am not sure how far it goes.

    as I hear this in my head, I am hearing piano as the only instrument, and wraps around some Springsteen-Adam Duritz (Counting Crows)-Warren Zevon groove going like you find on their slower songs. too much going on musically that I hear it plagiarizing them. sometimes I wish I played an instrument.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment