Month: April 2014

  • National Poetry Month

    April is National Poetry Month, sponsored by the Academy of American Poets in the interest of exposing more people to the joys of poetry and the creative minds behind the words. Last year was a productive month for me, as I was able to write a minimum of one poem a day for 30 days. This month has been more stifled for me, however. My last teaching job ended and I found a job in the Chiang Mai area, tutoring Chinese students online. Orientation for the position ran from April 7 to April 9, and I start officially this coming Wednesday. So this month has been rather busy. Instead of writing one poem a day, it is my goal to write at least 30 poems for the month, and it is hoped that I will exceed my goal.

    This month marks the fourth anniversary of my departure from Chiang Mai to Ubon Ratchathani, and it also marks my return. I missed this place on some levels. It is good to be back. Unfortunately, it is Songkran week, the celebration of the Thai new year that turns the country into an armed camp of squirt gun and supersoaker armed people out to hose you before you hose them. Beware the buckets of water that are in your face, as well as the threat of water balloons marked "to whom it may concern." That is very much an indiscriminate way of making a splash with you.

    More later.

  • Phra Sumen - panarama images

    Phra Sumen images were captured with a Canon A800 camera and were
    stitched together using Hug-In software.

    phrasumen1

    phrasumen2

    PhraSumen3

    PhraSumenfd

     

    Images were taken on April 6, 2014.