Month: December 2014

  • Wound up for the holidays (kinda sorta)

    Happy Hanukkah
    Merry Christmas
    Happy New Year

    It was a nice, quiet holiday season for me. I liked it.

    Starting in January, I am going to strive to write at least two posts a week. If I can make six posts a month, I will be satisfied. One post will be essay. One post will be poetry.

    I don't read enough, either online or offline. For some reason I can't stay focused on reading like I used to. This has to change.

    Also, I need to start making money from other sources. I'm tired of teaching in classrooms where the air is either too cold, resulting in sickness, or the kids are paying more attention to their computer games. I have ebooks available on a number of websites, but poetry doesn't sell well. Not like it used to. I need to try to write some short stories for a change, and maybe do it right enough to sell to a variety of markets.

    I have a lot of pictures, but no clue as to whether or not there is a market for what I have.

    Seems like my mind is wound up too tight in the wrong direction. Let's see what happens when it ticks the other way.

    More later.

  • Rebel without Bullets

    lacking happiness,
    a rebel without bullets
    continues the hunt
    for joy in a depressed world.
    he does something with his life.

  • Music of Saturday Night

    he played the blues
    win or lose, paid
    his dues, lit the
    fuse as he taught
    what he thought was
    long shot romance
    bought a dance and
    a chance to en-
    hance their love for the music of Saturday night

  • expiration date

    nine years away from home
    a big world that I've got to roam
    got a lot of miles that I have to go
    but I'm down on luck and short of dough
    can't go back but I can keep straight
    keep goin' forward to my expiration date

    a world full of borders
    guard towers and fences
    seven billion line their own defenses
    no one knows who gives the orders
    they can't look back or shoot real straight
    keep lookin' forward to their expiration date

    brothers, sisters, human disgrace
    I got lost in this place
    and I know I have to move on
    say goodbye and then I'm gone
    I can't come back so please don't wait
    keep movin' forward to my expiration date

  • Ebooks for Sale

    I have three ebooks available through several ebook sellers. Here are some links.

    lCMSessionssmallimage

    The Chiang Mai Sessions

    Amazon.com

    Barnes and Noble

    iTunes Store

    Goodreads.com

    Kobo Books

    bangkoksessionssmallimage

    The Bangkok Sessions

    Amazon.com

    Barnes and Noble

    iTunes Store

    Goodreads.com

    Kobo Books

    sshadowsofdoisuthepsmallimage

    Shadows of Doi Suthep

    Amazon.com

    Barnes and Noble

    Goodreads.com

    iTunes Store

    Kobo Books

    A fourth collection of poetry is in the works. "Under Crushed Black Velvet Skies" is my poetry journal from April, 2013. It features all the poems I wrote in answer to a challenge to write a poem a day during National Poetry Month, which is promoted by the Academy of American Poets. I hope to have it available by the end of the week.

  • Promises of Doom and Gloom

    how many heroes have left the room
    after they couldn't take no more?
    what of the promises of doom and gloom
    were they broken when they closed the door?
    somewhere night has fallen
    it's fallen and can't get back up
    and I'm calling on you
    'cause I've fallen and can't get back up
    I'm calling on you

    there are no more heroes in the room
    they left at the break of day
    the silly promises of gloom and doom
    left us broken with nothing to say
    somewhere night has fallen
    it's fallen and can't get back up
    and you're counting on me
    to play the fallen hero again
    you're counting on me?

    this is not where I will meet my fate
    and I'm not taking the fall
    doom and gloom promises are out of date
    they are no longer posted on the wall
    a smile is fading
    it is fading into the darkness
    and I'm calling on you
    but you won't answer the telephone
    I'm fading away