Month: February 2019

  • Dead Man Walking

    (c) 2019 James Heald
    --chant royal--

    I am a dead man walking
    streets littered with broken dreams
    no amount of sweet talking
    will silence the frightened screams
    of people lost without hope
    ready to swing by the rope
    as I stand here in the rain
    I hear the voice of their pain
    behind them are better days
    days that will come back again
    once their hearts are set ablaze

    God is a consuming fire
    who sent His Son after me
    consequences were dire
    for telling Him let me be
    He told me take up my cross
    then count life as total loss
    you know I killed Him for it
    but His love was infinite
    I chose to accept His grace
    with His light my path is lit
    with His strength I run the race

    with Christ I am crucified
    I am dead, buried, and gone
    for He crossed the great divide
    and became my Liaison
    with my Father in heaven
    the Creator of all men
    He loves with a mighty love
    as He reigns from up above
    and I, this dead man walking,
    live in the light of His love
    my actions do the talking

    keep the commandments of God
    hold to the faith of Jesus
    His word is the shepherd's rod
    on Him should be my focus
    I bear His great commission
    here I complete my mission
    where He leads I will follow
    even into the shadow
    of the valley of my death
    where I will meet my Hero
    and then breathe my final breath

    I am a dead man walking
    called from darkness into light
    I am a dead man stalking
    corridors of endless night
    in valleys of decision
    deception and delusion
    I share my testimony
    and find this serenity
    in the darkest of places
    knowing that the blind will see
    joy will light up their faces