July 18, 2021

  • The Long Haul

    woke up this morning
    staring at the sky
    I was California dreamin'
    and wondering why
    two tons of cargo
    two tons of heartache
    five hundred miles to go
    man I can't catch a break
    but I'm in it for the long haul
    I'm going to rise up
    I'm going to answer your call

    woke up this morning
    wond'ring what to say
    got a twelve-pack of soda
    to get me through the day
    I've made up my mind
    and I've spoken my peace
    listen to the engine whine
    the brakes sweetly release
    I'm in it for the long haul
    I'm going to take my stand
    I'm going to answer your call

    woke up this morning
    with you needing me
    to come home one more time
    you know I can't say no
    I know you can't say yes
    after the afterglow
    there's nothing to confess
    I'm in it for the long haul
    I'm in it for the ride
    I'm in it for the long haul
    and the truth we can't hide

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *