March 3, 2014

  • Liar's Knife

    not every battle is covered in glory
    not every hero lives to tell his story
    not every cause is worth the shedding of blood
    not every life is worth the price of this mud

    we wanted to believe in the straight and true
    we marched knowing what we were going to do
    take the battle to the enemy, we said
    we came back home left weary and dead

    we watched as our truth became a lie
    no good reason for our enemies to die
    I wonder why I can sleep in peace
    when for my brothers there is no release

    not every heart deserves to beat strong and bold
    not every story deserves to be told
    and all that gold I see glittering
    falls into hands undeserving

    I wonder why they can sleep in peace
    I wonder why they get sweet release
    my brothers deserved to live their lives
    but got cut down early by a liar's knife

Comments (4)

  • Gives one pause. In the case of war even the winners lose.

  • War should never be fought for the benefit of leaders unworthy of their position. War should not be fought for the purpose of increasing one's profit margin.

  • Very good poem. Very sad situation.

  • Powerful poem. And yet there are wars and children and parents are left alone to suffer in agony at the loss of their beloved sons and daughters.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment