April 19, 2016

  • More on the Writing Experience

    My first story for The Greater Ashland Beacon was published today. It looks at Victims Rights Week and the healing process that survivors and victims of crime go through following the tragedy. The story can be found on page two.

    I'm staying focused on the challenges that arise when attempting to write poetry every day. Sometimes I like the results that come out on paper. Sometimes it isn't working. Forcing a poem results in a mess, no matter how well it fits the framework. Three poems I've completed so far this month make pretty good stories. A third poem I've been working with is almost finished. One is a western. One is Medieval fantasy and is still in the works. Some of the poems find inspiration in martial arts. Overall, it has been a good time writing this month, and though the brain grows weary in writing, I like the results that have come out of it.

    I have some other ideas that want to be worked on, so I will see how things go with them. It would probably be easier to work on them if I had Internet service on my own computer. +

    Frustrations abound where weight loss is concerned. I'm having difficulty walking because of the weight gain. Cardio therapy hasn't helped, as I only go in twice a week. I think I push the exercise bike too hard, taking on 20 minutes at a time when I can. I don't like the NuStep machine, as it only makes my knees hurt that much more. Doctor's orders have me limited to 2000 mgs of sodium and 64 ounces of fluid a day. I take my prescriptions. I may as well start counting calories to go along with it.

    In about two weeks I should be getting paid, so I can once again join the Tai Chi class downtown. I need it. Tai Chi is more interesting when among people of like mind who are there to experience it, as well. And I need to get back into Taekwondo, as well. TKD burns the calories a lot more quickly.

Comments (1)

  • Just read the article - nice job! It is a sensitive subject. I've lost a lot of weight using the free mobile app on my phone MyFitnessPal. It can track calories (and cholesterol, sodium, calcium, carbs, sugar, vit C, you name it), exercise and fluids. You might find it handy. Hope things start looking up for you!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment